3 mins read 21 Feb 2020

2020 SAGE Award Winners Announced

23 Australian institutions and organisations awarded increasing gender equity and diversity in STEMM-related institutions.

The Science in Australia Gender Equity (SAGE) initiative awards, held on 20 February at the Adelaide Town Hall, have recognised the excellent contributions made by 23 Australian institutions for their achievement in advancing gender equity and diversity in Australia’s higher education and research sector.

Launched in 2015 as a response to the Australian Higher Education and Research sectors' need for a coordinated, national approach to improving gender equity in STEMM, the SAGE program is currently piloting the Athena SWAN accreditation framework. At present, the pilot is focused on implementing the Bronze Institutional Awar for STEMM disciplines in the higher education and research sector. 

The SAGE initiative centres on three integral elements, as follows:

a) Piloting and assessing the Athena SWAN accreditation framework in Australia (focus on Bronze Institutional Award) and supporting higher education and public research institutions to engage successfully with the program.

b) Raising awareness of gender equity and diversity issues in STEMM within the research sector and more broadly within the community.

c) Collaborating with like-minded institutions to promote and support initiatives aimed at encouraging women, trans and gender diverse people to participate in STEMM to address systemic barriers to equity.

Twenty-three institutions were awarded the SAGE Athena SWAN bronze awards, recognised for eliminating gender bias across their organisations. These included:

  • Australian Astronomical Observatory – Macquarie University
  • Australian National University
  • Deakin University
  • Department of Defense, Science and Technology – Australian Government
  • Federation University
  • Flinders University
  • Geoscience Australia – Australian Government
  • La Trobe University
  • Macquarie University
  • Murdoch University
  • Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology
  • South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute
  • Southern Cross University
  • Telethon Kids Institute
  • University of Adelaide
  • University of Canberra
  • University of Melbourne
  • University of Queensland
  • University of South Australia
  • University of Sunshine Coast
  • University of Sydney
  • University of Western Australia
  • Western Sydney University

SAGE is a partnership between the Australian Academy of Science and the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering.

An Athena SWAN Bronze Institution Award recognises an institution’s commitment to advancing the careers of women, trans and gender diverse individuals in STEMM disciplines in Higher Education and Research. Achieving a Bronze Institution Award requires an institution to demonstrate a solid foundation for improving gender equity in STEMM. would like to congratulate all the members and institutions involved in the management of the SAGE program, and of course the 23 institutions who have worked very hard to achieve such excellent results.

Find information on how you can also help on the SAGE website